CSKA lost to Olympiacos in the Euroleague semi-final

Basketball players of CSKA in the semifinal mast Euroleague against Olympiacos

© Mikhail Alexandrov/TASS

ISTANBUL, may 19. /Spec. Q. TASS Ilya Andreev/. Russian basketball club CSKA lost to the Greek Olympiacos with a score of 78:82 in the Euroleague semi-final and failed to reach the final of the tournament. The final four of the Euroleague takes place in Istanbul in the arena “Sinan Erdem dome”.

The most productive player of the match was the defender of CSKA Milos Teodosic, who scored 23 points.

See also

Teodosic: basketball players of CSKA have nothing to reproach, they were better than Olympiakos

CSKA in the fourth time lost to Olympiacos in the Final four of the Euroleague. Previously, the Moscow team lost to a club from Piraeus in the semi-finals in 2013 and 2015, as well as in the final of 2012. In addition, the army team in fifth time in the “final four” was defeated by the team, which includes defender Vassilis Spanoulis . Before that spanoulis won CSKA, not only as a player of Olympiacos, but speaking for Panathinaikos (2009). At the same time in the regular season of the Euroleague season 2016/17 CSKA twice defeated Olympiakos, and if we take into account the entire history of confrontation between the Russian and Greek clubs, the army team won 21 games and lost 13.

CSKA in the system with the “Final four” and lost in the semi-finals of the Euroleague eight times, six times played in the finals, having won three times at the tournament victory (2006, 2008, 2016). In the European Cup, which preceded the Euroleague, CSKA has won four times (1961, 1963, 1969, 1971). “Olympiakos” has won Euroleague three times – in 1997, 2012 and 2013.

The captain of CSKA Viktor Khryapa has updated its record for number of participations in the “final four”, now in the asset 34-year-old striker their 11. For the first time in the Final four he played in 2003.

The Moscow team in the match for third place will meet the loser in the match between the Turkish “Fenerbahce” and the Spanish “real”, which will start at 21:30 GMT. The match for third place and finals will be held Sunday in the same place – at the Istanbul arena “Sinan Erdem dome”. The game for third place will start at 18:00 Moscow time, the final at 21:00 GMT.

Leave a comment

Confirm that you are not a bot - select a man with raised hand: