Obama extends sanctions against Russia until March 2018

Daily Mail

US President Barack Obama for another year, until March 6, 2018 extended the sanctions imposed against Russia in 2014. Extended the sanctions also apply to the Russian companies in the occupied Crimea, Crimean and Donbass separatists, as well as former officials of Ukraine.

This is stated in the text of the document posted on the White house website. The message on the extension of sanctions “national emergency” is also submitted for publication in the Federal register of official documents of the United States, transfers radio “Freedom”.

Sanctions were extended because “the actions and political actions of persons who undermine democratic processes and institutions in Ukraine, threaten its peace, security, stability, sovereignty and territorial integrity, carry out the misappropriation of its assets . Actions and political steps of the Russian government, including a claim for the annexation of Crimea and the use of force in Ukraine and then pose an unusual and extraordinary threat to the national security and foreign policy of the United States,” reads the message.

“So I decided that it was necessary to extend a national state of emergency, introduced by the decree h 13660 against Ukraine,” – said in a letter to Obama to the heads of both chambers of Congress.

It is reported that the first package of sanctions was introduced by the decree h 13660 on 6 March 2014 and therefore, from that date begins the period of validity of all sanctions provided for these and several further decrees of the President of the United States. Because of the events in Ukraine and Crimea were issued three presidential decrees: between 16 and 20 March 2014 and 19 December 2014. March 6, 2016 Obama extended the validity of the decree for another year.

In accordance with us law, the validity of such sanctions regimes is automatically terminated after a year, if the U.S. President did not announce their continuation for 90 days before the end of annual period.

After the United States to the anti-Russian sanctions were joined by the UK, Australia, Japan and the European Union.

Recall, January 9, the U.S. Treasury on the basis of the Magnitsky act imposed sanctions against five Russian citizens, including the Chairman of the Investigative Committee of the Russian Federation Alexander Bastrykin. Also, 35 States expelled Russian diplomats.

Earlier, US senators have proposed sanctions to punish Russia not only for cyber attacks, but also for the actions in Syria and Ukraine.

As reported, U.S. senators plan to introduce a “full-scale” sanctions against Russia in connection with attacks that influenced the presidential election.

Related news: the German foreign Ministry intends to circumvent sanctions and to invite G-20 of the Minister of agriculture of the Russian Federation

Leave a comment

Confirm that you are not a bot - select a man with raised hand:

levitra online